Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,387

    Island hopping

    June 11, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    When I go to the steps for my morning cigarette I'm shocked but a little relieved to see that the big duck thing I was describing on the phone is actually stood on the steps and with the help of Google lens I identify it as a night heron I get picked up at 8.15 am this morning and although a little exhausted I'm also excited. When I arrive to the Jetty it's bedlam but I'm relieved when I get put onto a boat and there is just another couple on there but my relief is short lived as 10 mins later the boat is full of a group of Chinese people all wearing the same crazy outfits and big hats and take over the whole boat. We arrive at the first island Bohey Dulang where there Is a 700m climb to the top I haven't brought my training shoes so have to borrow a pair of wet shoes they have for rent. The climb is pretty easy going but the view is amazing and you can see for a 180 degree view. I meet a lovely lady there who's 65 and has done the 1hr up and 1hr down. Back on the boat we go to our first snorkeling site. Which I have to say was breathtaking. I see more fish than I've ever seen in an aquarium back home. I just float there in awe watching as they dip in and out of the coral. I'm even lucky enough to spot a mandarin fish one of the most beautiful fish I've ever seen. It's like a kids been given a coloring book with different fish and just used every colour in the pencil case. There's striped ones neon ones and ones I'm already familiar with like angel fish and blowfish but some I've never seen in my life. I'm quite shocked as most of the rest of the boat don't even get in the water and the ones that do are pulled along in life jackets with life buoys. Back on the boat again the next island is Mantabuan where we take lunch and once again I buump into the guys from Mount Kinabalu. We head straight for Sibuan island where the first thing we're greeted by is a watch tower with armed guards handling automatic machine guns this is for the pirates situation they have here,that you kind of forget about till you see this Another snorkeling spot results in my phone case leaking and I'm horrified but there's not a lot I can do about it in the middle of the ocean. The journey back is stressful with me trying to rinse my phone as it heats up to a ridiculous temperature. Samsung are slightly waterproof but they're not salt water proof as the boat comes into harbour I then also realise I've left my flip flops on the beach. When I reach the hostel a lovely young guy called Dan agrees to join me for lunch and the guys at the hostel have given me a box of rice to put my phone in. Dan and I enjoy the seafood and while he pushes the boat out with Lobster I opt for the prawns. The seafood here is so fresh. We're both pretty exhausted so head back via Starbucks on the way home. Im sad as Dan leaves tomorrow for Mabul but it's been nice sharing dinner as walking round town at night on my own I don't feel comfortable with. On the way back we're stopped by a local family and asked if we'll take a picture with them. This is very common here but we oblige and after numerous shots are back on our way.I check my phone when I get back but it still has moisture in so can't really make any plans for the day tomorrow until I know what's happening with that. There's only one thing for it an early night.Read more