Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,399

    Bako national park

    June 23, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I wake this morning at 630 as I need to check out before heading to Bako national park. I pop round to the 7/11 and by snacks and water ready for leaving at 8 am. It takes just over 40 minutes to arrive to the Jetty and I've managed to share a grab with a couple from Holland but they won't let me share the price of the grab. We arrive at the Jetty and there's a bit of a stress because you have to pay for the boat there and back but because they don't know what time they are coming back they don't want to share a boat but don't tell me till after we've left. The next window is checking in for the national park. I show my entry pass and overnight stay and I'm issued with my pass. We don't have to wait long for our bus and within 20 minutes arrive at the Jetty for the national park. It's been a National park since 1957 and within the park contains a wide range of vegetation – swamp forest, scrub-like padang vegetation, mangrove forest, dipterocarp forest, and delicate cliff vegetation. I'm able to check into my hostel. Im quite impressed when I arrive as I have 4 beds and no-one else is in there. I lighten my rucksack before making my way out on my first trek but as I leave my room I'm greeted by the biggest bearded pig. After a little sidestepping I finally make my way around him As I approach the jetty I realise I haven't signed out at the HQ and with trekking on my own decide it's a wise decision to head back and do so, especially with my luck these past few weeks. I'm heading for trails six five and 3. The first part of the trail is quite intense as I climb up through rocks and tree branches, along the way there are wooden steps to help and the trees are colour coded so you know your following the right path the path takes us through many landscapes and when I reach the clearing at the top there's a sign saying no smoking past this point due to wild fires. Once at the top the path is pretty flat with almost boulder appearance and the walkways lead me to the junction for Telok pandan besar. I walk the 10 mins and reach a clifftop viewpoint that is quite obstructed by trees but still beautiful. I retrace my steps and head down to Telok pandan Kecil. I meet up with the Dutch couple again and we agree to share a boat to the other island to trek back but to my disappointment the boat takes us back to HQ. I pay for the boat as they got the grab and walk back to the restaurant where I meet back up with the crew. I enjoy a good chat then head back to my room to chill for an hour before sunset. The sunset is breathtaking and is made even better by the random boar walking along the beach. We eat dinner in the restaurant and at 8pm all go on the night trek. We see various things from a Borneo black tarantula,catfish and a flying lemur, and even fireflies on the mangroves at the end Borneo never fails in the nature department and exhausted I make my way to bed.uRead more