Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,402

    Another day to chill

    June 26, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I'm woken this morning at 2 am by a call from Amber and she is crying, I panic and turn on my light and she tells me she's engaged. I'm over the moon but mixed feelings of happiness and sadness that I'm not there to give her a huge hug. I struggle to get back to sleep and eventually at 8am get out of bed and shower. I planned on trying to book a couple of Day trips today but nothing is open, you kind of forget what day it is when you're traveling. After breakfast at indah ( I like it here because I can just have toast and lemon curd or peanut butter) I make my way back to the hotel pool to do some more homework for the onward journey. Ideally I'd like to go back to Langkawi for a few days and the flights are really cheap from Kuching but if my card arrives in time I will venture to mulu to do a few days trekking with a stay in a longhouse so we will have to see what happens. The homesickness hits me like a brick this afternoon and I think it's due to the fact that I've stopped and have time to think and the fact I'm missing my family and for the first time in a while I'm on my own. I go onto the landing and for one of the first times go to iron a top one of my favourite tops and the iron burns a big hole in it. It certainly isn't my day today. I treat myself to steak and chips and a gin and tonic and try and be proactive by booking a trip but once again the fact I'm on my own becomes difficult because everything has a subsidy for solo travel. I manage to make contact with a guy who is really helpful and I advises me on different options I have. I go to bed exhaustedRead more