Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,406

    Langkawi legend

    June 30, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I wake early as I have a plane to catch this morning but go and grab a much-needed coffee in Indah. The owner Colin joins me and we chat about various travel and how fuel prices are changing everything even the price of bread. I could talk to him for much longer but I want to get to the airport on time. I arrive sharpish and as we pull up its like police academy are on duty. I have my last cigarette and once again struggle with printing my boarding pass. The lady on the desk is really helpful and after checking in my bag I'm ready to grab a bite to eat. As we fly into Kl I'd kind of forgotten how the airport is so different from the City of skyscrapers. We land surrounded by miles of psalm trees all grown for they're palm oil and after spending time in Borneo and it's natural nature I feel like I'm in another dimension. We arrive to kl airport ahead of schedule and I have a 3+ HR layover here before my flight to Langkawi. I'm so excited to be returning to my little island of friends. The good part is I can leave the airport and top up on my nicotine fix before boarding my next flight so I grab myself a coffee and head out to puff myself to oblivion. The time fly's and I get chatting to a lady called Gerry who lives on Langkawi. She knows uncle Johnny. We chat till we board the plane and before I know it we've landed. I wait a short time for my bag and get a grab to Rainbow lodge. I literally drop my bags and and make my way to Rainbow Bar. I'm soon reunited with the crew and spend the evening catching up and telling them about my Borneo treks. It's so good to be back, and in my travels in Malaysia Langkawi is definitely one of the places that feels most like home. After numerous beers and a couple of G and T's I stagger to my room and enjoy a good night's sleep.Read more