Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,384

    Leaving Sepilok

    June 8, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    After sharing breakfast with the girls and Nick I head back to the dorm to pack for the jungle. My guide Lan picks me up slightly early and we drive down to the Orangutans sanctuary to pick up another couple. I'm pleased that there will only be 3 of us as it just gives us more ability to ask questions etc. Marjan is from Iran and John from France but they both speak better English than me. They are well traveled and also have a similar travel ethic to me, wanting to get of the beaten path a bit more and off the typical tourist trail, probably why we've ended up staying at Uncle Tans. The drive takes 1 1/2 hours and we are able to stop for a few essentials on route including cigarettes and snacks and eventually reaching Jeti Pengkalan Bukit Garam at 3pm. We board the boat and take the 1+hours journey down the Kinabatagan River. The river is 560km in length and flows into the Sulu sea and as we board the little boat it's red hot and I'm glad I've packed my hat and sun cream with easy accessibility.Read more