Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,431

    Dont go chasing waterfall

    July 25, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    We share a goodbye breakfast with Jay this morning as he's heading to Gili t for a few days. We've hired a motorbike and are going shopping for the day. There is a big shopping centre in the next town to us called Mataran. It's only 12 km from here so after brekkie we set off. The roads aren't as crazy as kuta but they aren't far off. Bobby needs new sandals and I'm going to treat myself to a new go pro. I've tried relentlessly to get my other one to work but to no avail and I'm missing so much beautiful stuff under the water without it, and with the disaster of my other phone breaking in the waterproof bag option I've decided to treat myself to an early birthday present. I'm chuffed when I find one as I've been looking for a little while but Bobby's not so as he's looking for size 45 sandals and the largest size they do is 43. We ride back to the hotel and I have a plan to have a play with my new toy but when we arrive back there is no electric so the plan changes that we will collect our swimsuits and find a waterfall. We can't believe our luck when we find a waterfall a few km from the hotel. We jump on the bike and take a little road up a small track and as we ride up here there are children shouting hello hello. Google maps tells us we have arrived but there is no waterfall to be seen. We ask the locals if they know where it is and they say there's no waterfall because it's dry season. We come back through the little village the children are all excited to see us it's so cute. In one area the road has totally collapsed and they've just put a few bags of gravel to stop you going over the edge. Once again we resort to Google maps and this time travel for 45 minutes through little towns and Paddy fields. As we arrive this time there is once again no waterfall and when we check maps me, it doesn't even exist. To be fair it's been good just to make the most of having the bike and getting away from the expat beach scene and exploring the countryside. We stop to refuel and literally buy a little of green fluid in a bottle from a little roadside shop. Erna messages me that she has our bottle of Rum and will be in Joke for 430. This pretty much ties in with the time we should be back so we ride directly there. Andy and Ernas bar is closed today as they have building work going on so it's nice for them to enjoy a day off together with the kids. Marlee is so cute she's 3yrs old but loves getting dirty and I run around on the beach with her and with it being black sand we are both filthy. Loretta and bill join us a little later and it's nice for me to enjoy some girly time. Traveling with someone has definitely changed my trip and the way people interact with you compared to when you're traveling solo, but it has been nice to have company. We share a few beers on the beach before heading back for a shower and taking a small walk to the beach to enjoy some Mexican food . Just after we've sat down Loretta and Bill walk along the beach and are eating in the Mexican as well. I enjoy the company chatting and laughing before the option of an early night.Read more