Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,448

    Big fish little fish

    August 11, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    My plan was to go to the 'gates of heaven' for sunrise this morning but I wake early with an upset stomach and decide to give it a miss. I fall back asleep and wake shortly after 8am feeling a lot better. I use snorkeling equipment from the bungalow and literally go snorkeling directly in front of my room. Wow there are the most beautiful fish within a few metres of shore and the biggest angel fish I've ever seen. The variation of fish are beautiful and it's really calm. I meet Nico for lunch and I'm ecstatic when I see mashed potato on the menu and order it with the Barracuda. It's so delicious even with the little lumpy bits. As I sit here women men and children walk along the beach with baskets on there head selling everything from sarongs to fishing boas and bracelets that they have made and generally I say no but today a young girl with impeccable English captures my heart and I decide to add to my bracelet collection, the problem is that within seconds there are 4 girls so I make a deal to buy one from each of them. I make my selection individually and the initial girl makes them all say thank, like they're little teacher. It really warms my heart and I pay a little extra for her one. In the afternoon we have been invited by Made to go fishing, we push out the boat which is pretty heavy. We get out there and just bob about on the water. Made attaches a weight to the line with a feather flight on it and nothing else. It's about 250m deep and we spend the time just dropping the line to the bottom and bringing it back up again ,whilst at the same time enjoying the beautiful sunset with the odd sip of Arak in between. Tonight the moon is in full view and I love just floating around with the views. When we arrive back the im relieved the boat is brought in on a motor pulley with a rod in front for guidance. Back on shore we have a few beers and eat dinner in Katut's restaurant. I definitely plan to go to the gates of heaven early in the morning so bid the guys goodnight and although I have plans to write my blog I feel so tired I just crash and burn.Read more