Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3,012

    The long journey

    February 26 in England ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    So after far too long, I'm eventually back on a plane. We're flying out of London Heathrow and luckily John eased my travelling pain by dropping me all the way from Liverpool. We board the plane on time and pretty much spend the whole day travelling. The first flight is to Hong Kong and is a 12 hour stint. We take a sleeping tablet each and within minutes Marlene is snoring, but as usual I still can't sleep. We have a 3 hour stopover but by the time we get of the plane and find the smoking lounge. A couple of cigarettes later and we boarding the plane to continue our 5hour journey onwards to Bali. It's really nice because by the time we've eaten and watched a film we are touching down. With being here a year ago I'm aware that getting you visa online is a must as there are 2 queues when we arrive and we only have to wait for immigration so fly through. Outside it's pandemonium hundreds of name boards but I don't see our names. We walk towards the exit and I suggest we have a cigarette before I leave Marlene with the suitcases and walk back to find our lift. Second time lucky I find our driver and we are on our way to the hotel. It's a big change for me as I'm used to staying in hostels but this time it's luxury all the way. The hotel is beautiful and after dropping our bags out bags and a shower we head out to meet my friends who've been in Bali for a month. We enjoy dinner in a local restaurant and after a couple of hours and beers head back to the hotel exhausted.Read more