Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Loreto Aprutino

    May 17, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    This is the Italy we came to see!! Here we are staying in our castle suite like Lord & Lady Muck. I checked this morning how much we were paying a night - $220. Can't compare it to what you get in Perth for that price.
    Loreto Aprutino is a medieval town surrounded by olive groves and with other similar towns on nearby hills. Last night we had the best meal we have had by far - a six course Abruzzo (the area we are in) traditional feast. There was one guy in there doing it all - he was waiter, chef, the lot. But he was just cruising around with not a care in the world and every course was superb.
    Unfortunately a lot of the old town is in poor condition and there are a lot of properties for sale in this area. I've attached a photo of me outside the apartment we purchased for $50k.
    Walked into town and low and behold it was street market day. Here we go I thought. But time has stood still here and everything for sale was what you would imagine an old Italian momma wearing 40 years ago. I still managed to buy something :) . Now I understand why everyone was looking at me like I had two heads in my ripped jeans yesterday.
    Had street food Italian style for lunch today - pancetta rolls which we shared with one of the local stray cats. I think it had more than I did - although I didn't let it have any pork crackle!
    Read more