Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 21

    September 13, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Well… dinner last night was good.. it’s all relevant.. at home it would be disappointing.. but I’m not at home!!!!
    Set off usual time.. breakfast was spent with, the German lady, who’s name I can’t remember, and a Spanish couple I meet regularly who’s name’s I don’t know, communicating somehow on what the weather was going to do.. heavy rain, thunder and lightning had been forecast…. Set off with it being too warm for a coat etc., but having everything to hand in a hurry if necessary… every hour I thought.. that’s one hour less walking in the rain!!
    Amazingly… me .. who never seems to know where I’m going, stopped to help two different lots of people on which way the route went.. thank you Camino Ninja!!
    A few hours into it.. and an hour of scary loud thunder later it absolutely hammered down.. not so bad if it hadn’t also started blowing a gale ( no idea where that came from!! ) it was soo cold and wet.. I passed Rocky about 3k before the finish, who commented on my fast legs..we both agreed it was a good day to have fast legs, buen Camino ‘d and off I went… mmm upon reaching today’s destination, I couldn’t find my accommodation.. 25 minutes of wandering around later, I bump into Rocky, who decided to find my accommodation for me before his own.. absolute star ⭐️.. it did turn out we were next door, but hey, he didn’t know that when he set out!
    Hot shower etc etc later, I pop downstairs for a beer!!! Meet up with various people and we all end up together having a couple of beers… Rocky pops his head through the window and invites me to join him, his Sioux Indian friend and Bianca for a kind of odd numbers version of scrabble.. absolutely fab afternoon.. bring on a re run tomorrow!!
    Tonight brought a coming together of about 12 of us…individuals.. ( me , Norbert, the German lady) couples .. 3 American, 1 Canadian .. who all regularly stay at the same place.. pulling tables together and all joining up for dinner… a fabulous evening and one I will always remember when I look back on my Camino… ❤️
    Read more