Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 23

    September 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Today’s biggest event.. I’ve just lost a toenail 🥴.. not sure how that will feel tomorrow, but hey ho!!
    At the beginning of this walk I did see a few people wearing sandals, or socks and sandals 😳 and it crossed my mind that maybe that was the proper pilgrim way. As the weeks have gone on, I’ve seen more and more.. mostly with feet and/ or toes taped up and big heel plasters on !!
    It seems it’s when your feet are too sore to wear your shoes / boots that’s the thing to do!
    There is one guy on the road at the moment ( I’m feeling a little bit like I’m the only one not to have bumped into him yet ) from Honduras, who’s doing it bare foot!!! He has an incredible back story as to why he’s doing it and I feel sure I’ll be reading a book or seeing a movie about it in a couple of years.. unbelievable story.
    The rain of yesterday and overnight was due to stop about 8ish this morning, so there didn’t seem too greater rush for a lot of people to get going this morning..
    Today’s walk into Leon was never going to be a great one, everything I’d read had already said so. It was fine though, and I was really looking forward to getting to Leon, with it having so much to see and visit.
    I wasn’t disappointed, I’m staying in the old town, lots of small narrow streets bustling with bars and tapas places.. definitely hit lucky with where I’m staying.. I had a fabulous afternoon, just wandering around, visiting the Cathedral etc., drinking beer and eating tapas.. for once I’m really glad dinner isn’t until 8pm.
    I had a very brief panic at 5.45 am when my phone rang, assuming something had happened at home.. nope, it was Rocky .. already 5km out of town, saying he was sorry we didn’t catch up last night, but hopefully would again in the next few days!! 😂😂
    Read more