Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Quito

    February 13, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    Finally! La capital!
    The bus drive was fine and I could lay down completely over 4 seats. I arrived at 6 in the morning and the central bus station, from where I took a taxi To my old friend Antonio, who lives in cumbaya, one of the wealthier neighbours in town.
    We realised that we know each other for 14 years and he reminded me the night I was sitting naked in his kitchen in Karlsruhe, while the police was in the door because the music was too loud.
    He, his mother and their dog Chuck were extremely hospitable, showed me around, took me out to nice restaurants and I even got my own room, because his younger sister just moved out to her fiancé.
    The last two days I was exploring the city by myself and went to Foundation of Oswaldo Guayasamin, the most significant Artist of Ecuador.
    I also met a friend I got to know in Montanita at another art gallery. She showed me the cool, alternative places of the city.
    On my last day I went to see the „middle of the world” wich should be exactly at longitude and latitude 0’0’0 and highlights the exact location of the Equator.
    As Antonios mother told me that the Europeans actually measured it the wrong way and that the real point is some hundred meters behind it. I searched for it and found a much more beautiful place than the stone monument of the colonizers.

    On this morning I shaved my face completely as I haven’t done in years and got picked up by Cesar a family member of Hayulima Spirit Sanctuary. The place were I am attending my first Ayuhasca-Retreat.

    I was following a diet for two weeks prior to drinking the medicine. The major premise of the diet is eating as clean and fresh as possible:

    Cut out/reduce the consumption of saturated fats
    Cut out/reduce the consumption of sugar 😑
    Cut out/reduce anything with colorants and or preservatives
    No processed food
    No pork or foods that contain it, like sausage
    No beef. Chicken and fish are fine in small amounts
    No alcohol

    I am now located in an cloud forest valley, in pure nature.
    I will be here for 12 days and will also practice digital detox for that time.
    I am super excited what I am going to discover in and outside of me.
    Mama, don’t be scared this place is safe and sacred 😉

    Mucho Amore
    Nino
    Read more