Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Baños

    March 5, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I had a two day stopover in Quito where I again found refuge at Antonios house, where I could calm down a bit and chill. Antonio had left to spain, so I chilled with his lovely mother Nancy.

    I had one mission for Quito: Nose piercing!
    So I went to this recommended studio and got
    it in a very fast but hurtfull process 🤭

    After that I had some dinner with the last people of the retreat at a fancy chinese place.

    My back was not feeling good, so I went to see this recommended yoga and chinese medicin therapist wich treated me for 3hours including a also pretty hurting acupuncture method into my muscles.
    Wow, enough needles for some time for sure. The rest of the day I could finally play some hours of FIFA at Antonios console, before I took the bus the next morning at 6 o clock to Baños.

    Baños de Agua Santa is known as the "Gateway to the Amazon," as it is the last city still located in the mountain region before reaching the jungle and other towns that are located in the Amazon River basin.

    The valley village is surrounded by huge mountains (~3.000m) with great waterfalls and lots of extreme sports like rafting, crafting, bungee jumping, canopy…
    I did canopy were I flew zipped to a line over a canyon. It felt like flying in my dreams. It was combined with some saved climbing at the mountains.
    Afterwards I went to a huge waterfall were I got wet to the bones.
    Before bed I went to the volcano spring thermal bath, wich was extremely hot!!! The therapeutic approach is to switch from the 43* hot water to the ice cold water for one hour. The water was so hot I could only stay for max 10minutes in it, so I managed to do six switches and then went straight to sleep 🛌.

    Next day I went uppon the mountain to have a hike down from 2.800m.

    After two fun days it was time to meet some of my friends from the beach in the Jungle village “Tena”. So I took the 3hour bus drive to meet them there…
    Read more