Satellite
Show on map
  • San Agustin & the hell ride to Cali

    March 11, 2021 in Colombia ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    One night sleep over in the nice Masaya Hostel, wich looked more like a star resort but was again cheap af. It was located outside of the village in the middle of the nature with super modern furnishing and extra comfortable dorm beds where we could gain strength again.
    The whole property was so cool, that we didn’t even leave it.
    I only took a hike down the valley to the river I saw from high above. The trail was kind of steep, but I was feeling good and ran where it was possible. More down the path wich how i discovered was actually a dried stream, got smaller and smaller.
    Suddenly I was crossing different kind of Plantages like coffee, cacao, papaya, banana, oranges.
    I stopped by a man wich picked me papaya straight from the tree with the words: “100% organic” :) It was absolutely RICO, as the people here say when something is delicious. Probably my favourite spanish word.
    After 1,5 hours I was almost down at the river, I could see and hear it but I couldn’t reach it because it was surrounded by 10m high cliffs and high scrub 😒
    I accepted that after many more attends and took my way back up because it began to get dark.

    Back up again I was just right exhausted for our 10hour night bus ride to Cali. So I ordered myself a Ceviche at the exquisite looking hostel restaurant, had a shower and ate it full of enjoyment,
    Right after the last bite, I realised my stomach wasn’t feeling good…Damnnnnnn, really? Now??
    I decided not to stay another night and take the bus anyway. BIG MISTAKE!

    As we entered the fully packed and also the most tight one I’ve seen until here, my stomach began to turn around.
    Not only that the bus was shit: from the 10 hours drive, 7 hours where on an uphill and repaved dirt road with countless potholes, wich transformed the bus into a Low-Rider jumping thing.
    After 30 minutes I puked the first time into a bag with holes on it, so my trousers, seat and floor got messed up.
    After maybe 3 hours and 3 more bags I decided to go up to the front front, onto an uncomfortable folding seat with open window. It got better there and sometimes I even managed to fell a sleep for some seconds until the next wave of jumping or puking hitted on me 😅

    As we arrived in Cali at 7 in the morning, I booked a private room in a hostel to recover. Unfortunately it wasn’t free yet so I had to lay down in the lobby where I loudly screamed some more times into a bucket 😂

    Finally I could get some rest and after many hours of sleep the nightmare was over and I could go out to see the city…
    Read more