Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Palomino

    March 24, 2022 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Driving along the again very different landscape at the sea I had to changed the bus in Santa Marta to Palomino.

    Arriving there a moto-taxi took me to the Tiki Hut Hostel next to the beach. I checked in and went directly dipping into the rough sea. It was already dark an the waves were strong but warm.

    After showering I run into my roommate Jonas wich was from berlin too. We connected instantly and went out for dinner, before going to bed early.

    Next day I woke up in this paradise, had breakfast and walked along this gorgeous beach until a spot where I was alone for miles. I sat down under palmtrees, drank a coconut, went skinny dipping and did yoga.
    I’m Greece there is a saying: “There is non like Chalkidiki” and despite the beach conditions with the different sands, palm trees and nature, the sea itself in Greece is still the most clear and beautiful I’ve seen so far 🙂

    At noon I met Jonas with two danish, one german and one swedish guys for tubing in the river.
    We got driven to a spot up the mountain where we jumped on a rope into the lake.
    We got our tubing tires and started the 2 hour drive down the river.
    We felt a little pranked when we found out that the river won’t get any faster because there was barely water in it 😂 We approximately drove with 5kmh and lots of laughter, in beautiful nature though.
    The highlight was when Jonas somehow lost his GoPro “Action cam” in non existing action.
    We searched it without success.
    Well no, the highlight was when 2 women ran from the sand beach into us like pirates capsizing and demanding 5.000 Pesos for creating at least some action.

    After that adrenaline rush we went out for dinner in the cute village of Palomino, where we heared live music and even a small rave with a Berliner Djane.

    The accommodations in Barranquilla for carneval got extremely expensive and you would even pay around 50€/night for dorms.

    The danish guys knew another Canadian guy wich rents out mattresses at an Airbnb.
    So right know Jonas, me and Mikkel are only a few hours away from the great carneval. Let’s see how long we will stand this…
    Read more