Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Uvita Whale Tail Nationalpark

    April 16, 2022 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    20 minutes before we arrived the bus made strange noises and stopped. The driver tried everything and after 30min and uncountable puta madres I decided to take an Uber for the last 12km.
    A guy saw accidentally what I was doing on my phone and asked If we want to share because he had the same destination. Another girl joined and we split the bill. After a short time we figured out that we could switch to German because Christian is from Berlin, Wedding and Sarah from Köln.

    Christian and me made an appointment at the beach to see the sundown. So after checking into my cute hostel in the nature I headed down to the beach wich was part of the national park, so I had to pay 4000 Colones ~6$ to get in. It was already late and I was charming, that's why I even got a stamp for the next day 😏

    Walking through the palmtrees I came to this incredible beach, like I've never seen before. It felt like the set for Jurassic park.
    Meeting Christian and dipping into the warm sea it heavily started to rain. A rain warm as the water, reminded my of my childhood running naked through the garden when it was pouring out the clouds.

    We found a place nearby for lunch and called it a day.
    Next day we went back to the park and made our way up to the famous whale tail formation.

    Christian had a drone, wich allowed us to look at it from 500m high. Incredible! At low tide you could walk up to the top of the tail and as I got later in the day both sides were emerging to one.
    We made some awesome shots, cracked some delicious coconuts, wich is hell of a job and moved on to see some waterfalls, because we had just this day left in this paradise.

    We walked around 30min until we came to the first waterfall where they charged us 2$ entry. There was a sweet spot to jump and you could also slide down the ~5m high waterfall. Wich I wouldn't have done if I haven't had seen the locals doing that before.

    There was another "secret" waterfall another hour walk from there. We crossed a beautiful Bamboo forrest and found this river wich we followed up until we found it. Gorgeous!

    PS: Drone videos will follow soon!
    Read more