Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Puebla

    June 1, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    After a nice 5h ride through the Mountains and desert of central Mexico, Miguel and his girlfriend picked me up from the bus station.

    So funny to see him after all these years, he had so many nice memories from back then.
    The family wich also knew my family welcomed me warmly. Miguel and his mother still are fluent in German, but I also could understand and speak Spanish with the father.

    Next morning Chari (the mother) made us some scrambled eggs and a fresh mango smoothie before we started our tour to the city. First we drove to the formerly biggest (surface) pirámide of Mexico, where now a church was build on.
    Most churches I saw during this trip got me feeling angry and sad because I know that underneath each of them lie the walls and dead bodies of the former cultures (Aztecs, Mayans, Incas etc.) wich got slaughtered by old white European colonisers.
    I always was to lazy to cancel my church membership in Germany. I also thought that some parts are good because they SOMETIMES also support socially, but actually I have to get the fuck out of this weird ass merger.

    Anyways, we went on to see the beautiful old town of Puebla when we arrived at the oldest bar in town where we ordered this classic shot called "Pasita", wich has a piece of cheese and a raisin on a toothpick in it.
    Chari kept on ordering, so we ended at having 4 in a row 🥴.

    Mexico city was now only 2.5 hours away and Cesar my fellow student from Istanbul provided me a place to sleep.
    Read more