Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    TdP - Paine Grande>Lago Grey

    April 7, 2023 in Chile ⋅ 🌨 4 °C

    Puerto Natales > Pudeto > Paine Grande > Lago Grey (11km)

    6:45am bus from Natales to Pudeto, a point in the national park where you can then catch the ferry/catamaran. Drove 3 hours through the chilly sunrise and waited awhile in the wind and rain for the ferry. Then half an hour ferry along a blue green glacier lake to Paine Grande, one of the Refugios to start the trek. I am doing the W-Trek, a classic 4-5 day route through the National Park. Would have like the O trek, which is 8-9 days and goes around the back of the park and is less touristy, but it’s closed in April unless you hire a guide, which is too expensive :/ Next time!

    Started hiking from Paine Grande around 12 noon, along Lago Grey towards the Grey glacier.
    1st fail: lost my earphones :( there’s a hole in my pocket so they are just gone somewhere unknown :(
    2nd fail: forgot to bring gas for the cook stove.. ayayay. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I feel cursed/scatterbrained. Usually I’m so organised and careful. Luckily the campsite is pretty well equipped so I could just buy some 😂 if this were tombstone I would have had to cancel the hike!
    Anyways I hiked about 3 hours to Campamento Grey. Already a beautiful trail with fall red and orange everywhere, and the blue/grey lake alongside, the occasional chunk of bright blue glacier ice floating by. The downside: pretty grey weather, constant light rain, and INSANELY WINDY!! Seriously I nearly fell over a number of times from huge gusts of wind, and could barely see sometimes with wind and pelting rain in my face! But I made it to the camping area and set up my tiny yellow tent. Felt a bit lonely lying inside. Not that much to do except make a hot chocolate and cook dinner already. There’s a cooking building aswell so that is good, would be shitty cooking outside in the wind
    Read more