Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Lima

    May 23, 2023 in Peru ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Last stop before I head home is Lima. Haven’t heard much good about it and I’m tired of big cities so I just have a night and a day here. Ate a tasty Peruvian fast food sandwich for cheap and walked around John F. Kennedy park (didn’t find out why it’s called that).

    Last day! Did a walking tour (of course) that was pretty good, we took the bus across the city to the historic centre. Tourists don’t stay there much (Miraflores neighbourhood instead) because it’s dead in the evenings apparently, but in the day it’s pretty nice with colonial architecture etc. (although I’ve seen plenty of that). The guide was good, learned a bit about the failed coup that happened in January leading to the protests that hurt the tourism a lot this year, but things are basically back to normal now. They have a hill neighbourhood that the houses are painted so it looks like a flag from far away.

    After the tour I bought a poncho (not a South America backpacker without one), and then had lunch with the guide and some Germans from the group. Local dish called Limo Saltado (rice, fries, meat and veg with sauce).

    Then back to the hostel and ran into someone I met in Cusco so we had a beer and then I took the bus to the airport. 4 months in South America done! Definitely want to come back to see more of Peru and Bolivia, plus Brazil. But right now I’m really happy to be going home. It was a good trip and I did lots of awesome things, but I am ready to have some time not travelling, planning, moving, stressing, all the annoying things about travelling.
    Read more