Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 104

    The Romans

    October 23, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Cartagena is full of Roman ruins and they are all within a 10 minute walk from our residence here on the Marina. So far we have visited the Roman Forum, the Roman theatre, the Roman amphitheatre, the Punic walls, Fortuna house and the Augusteum Residence. We have also accidentally come across some ruins being excavated in a town square and more displayed under the floor in a shop.
    We find out that much of these ruins have only been discovered in the last 50 years, including the enormous amphitheater.
    Stacks of buildings including a 13th century cathedral were built on top of it. People were happily living there unaware that there was a magnificent amphitheatre under their homes right up to 1988.
    The reconstructions and exhibits that have been built up around the Roman ruins in the city are modern and interactive and we get a real feel for how things were 2200 years ago.
    I am still brimming with Roman enthusiasm when I meet a 10 year old girl from another boat who is just back from a visit to the Amphitheatre. She doesn’t share my enthusiasm and on discerning my disappointment she is quick to explain that it is only because she has already visited so many Roman Amphitheatres in her travels.
    I am no longer sure if the Roman ruins here are amazing or maybe I am amazed because they are the only roman ruins I have seen. One remark from a ten year old and I am full of self-doubt.
    Read more