Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5,920

    Home

    July 5, 2015 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    20 years ago, I bought a silk Mughal court painting just before leaving India, and while it made its slow boat route to St. Louis, I spent the rest of the year traveling. I also spent the rest of my savings, so when we met up again I couldn't afford to get it framed how I wanted. Until last week, and it was joined in quick succession by these two chairs we had made in San Juan. A big empty room now has a painting, two chairs, and a rug. And lots of light.

    Now my best friend's son, my namesake, is traveling in India, and I'm a middle aged homeowner enjoying sitting in my new chair, looking at that painting . The cycle keeps turning, and I find myself thinking, Clark, get a painting, bring it back, and when you've found where home will be, get it nicely framed. But don't wait 20 years.
    Read more