Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Venice hotel

    June 30, 2016 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    Here is the view from our room in the hotel. Not a bad place to be stuck for 2 days, eh?

    It is a very old fashioned hotel with big clunky room keys that you leave at the desk when you go out. That is a first for hotels on this trip. There is also a cord hanging in the shower that you can pull to ring an alarm if you fall. It is so tempting to use as a clothesline that I suspect it has been disconnected, but I am not going to test it out.

    Speaking of accommodations here are some interesting things I have noticed about European bathrooms so far (some I knew and some were news to me):
    - every single bathroom, every single public toilet stall has its own toilet cleaning brush. Heaven forbid there would be cross contamination.
    - (almost) every single full bathroom or women's toilet stall I have been in has a dispenser for little plastic bags hanging on the wall
    - we didn't see bidets until we got to Italy and have seen them in both hotels so far
    - washcloths are rarely found in hotels. Evidently many Europeans would sooner use someone else's underwear before using a public washcloth.
    - Italian hotels provide bath towels and towels I would liken to linen dish cloths. No other small hand towels. I think it goes along with the bidet thing.
    Read more