Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Laundry Day!

    August 31, 2017 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    So I've rented a car from the local Toyota franchise. It is a Toyota Vitz compact car, so it's not fast but is easy to park (photo 1). The first task is to do some laundry as the Tokyo heat and Mt Fuji trek have severely stretched my clothing resources.
    The coin laundry is on a main road and should be easily accessible, yet Google Maps insists on using back streets. Or it's just me. Anyway I eventually find it and decide on a machine (2nd photo). I have bought detergent and manage to follow all the steps to start a 27 minute wash (with the help of Google Translate). Once that is done I load up a dryer for 50 minutes.
    While the clothes are drying I drive to a park at Katsuyama rest area on Lake Kawaguchiko. It's pretty and tranquil, so I sit on the grass, eat my lunch and watch young people throwing a baseball and kicking a soccer ball. Back at the laundry, my clothes are bone dry. Mission accomplished!
    Later in the afternoon I drive around Lake Motosu. It's beautiful, serene and very quiet. Good views of Mt Fuji from here. Last 3 photos.
    Read more