Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Noto Peninsula

    September 7, 2017 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    So it's time to leave (currently wet) Kanazawa to go to Toyama. It's not much over 60km between the two cities. Since I have all day to get there, I plan to take the long way round by driving north up the West coast of the Noto peninsula, crossing over to the East coast of the peninsula then driving through to Toyama.
    It sort of turns out that way, but bear in mind that driving in Japan always takes longer than you expect. The weather is also a factor but not at first. The way north from Kanazawa takes me on to an expressway, which is easy driving but not scenic. No tolls in this area, thank goodness.
    I decide to visit Myojoji Temple on the way through. It was founded by the Buddhist Saint Nichizo in 1294. There is some rain so I've put on a rain jacket. The monk that sells me a ticket lends me an umbrella anyway and tells me to walk clockwise through the site, which includes a pagoda, hall, tomb, cemetery, pond and garden. I don't walk into the buildings as my shoes are muddy.
    From here the weather starts to deteriorate and I've lost network coverage. I cross over to a town called Nanao on the peninsula east coast. I park in the Nanao Art Museum car park and eat my lunch while it rains outside.
    I put on my waterproof gear and go for a walk in the rain. This takes me past an area called Komaruyamajoshi Park. It contains walking trails that go past a number of shrines (last 3 photos). Very pleasant, even in the rain.
    Eventually I go back to the car and head towards my hotel in Toyama. The rain becomes heavier for prolonged periods but thankfully has eased up by the time I get to the hotel.
    Read more