Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Pop Buffet Restaurant

    September 17, 2017 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    On checkin to the Kiroro Tribute Hotel, I was asked if I would support a "save the planet" initiative by not having towels changed, bed linen changed etc for the duration of my stay. For this I was given 1000 yen (11-12 AUD) discount vouchers for dinner at the resort's restaurants. Sounded like a sweet deal so I was in 😚

    Which is actually restaurant singular as it is out of season. As my accommodation included breakfast, I had 4 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the Pop Buffet.

    I love a good buffet and Pop's breakfast buffet comprised both Japanese and Western elements. Day 1, I tried some of both but by Day 4 I had settled on boiled eggs, scrambled egg, ham, bacon and tomato followed by a banana and a bowl of fruit compote covered with yoghurt. And coffee, glorious coffee with multiple refills. Fill yer boots, son!

    Dinners had a set charge of 4000 yen (46 AUD) although my vouchers saved me 1/4. First dinner I ordered a glass of plum wine, which comes in a spirits glass with ice. Its taste was reminiscent of cough medicine I've tried in the past ... not necessarily a bad thing. 2nd dinner I ordered a bottle of saki. As it is a clear spirit it left no hangover. I quite enjoyed it.

    The dinner buffet took pride in offering Hokkaido specialities. I found the wasabi octopus quite challenging but made it through by channelling the Mt Fuji spirit. I enjoyed the "Genghis Khan" mutton, which is grilled, but my favourite was the Soup Curry. Basically you put vegetables such as broccoli, potato, carrot etc and meat or seafood into a bowl. You then ladle in the soup curry and add extra spices to taste. And you can add rice as you go! Super filling.

    Lots of nice pastries and cakes for dessert, all with gluten but I found the buffet was enough anyway. Wouldn't do it every night but well worth the money.

    NO PHOTOS.
    Read more