Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Kushiro at night

    September 25, 2017 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Because I haven't posted many night time photos, I'll do a special post for Kushiro. My hotel is located on the south bank of the Kushiro river and is between two bridges. The closest bridge is the Nusamai bridge which is known for its views. Most of the photos were taken in this vicinity.

    After checking in to the hotel I find my room is more suitable for a hobbit than a human. Tiny shower; I'm thin and I still struggled to find enough space to wash myself. Tiny bathroom; had to dry myself in the room. Tiny fridge; a small carton of milk had to sit on its side to fit.

    Anyway there's an inhouse Chinese restaurant so maybe that will make up for the room. Well no, it's apparently fully booked so they cannot fit in ONE PERSON. I walk outside to take some photos and walk past the restaurant. Looking at the diners, I try to banish the thought "I hope you choke" to the back of my brain ☹

    So I check online for close by restaurants as I've had enough driving for the day. Niku 18 is a meat restaurant not too far from Nusamai Bridge. This gives me a chance to admire the views from the bridge.

    After arriving at the restaurant (see photo) I order the Niku 18 special, which shall hereafter be known as MegaMeatMeal. It comprises pork, chicken and beef, along with chips. The attached photo doesn't do it justice as the pork obscures 2 pieces of beef. I eat as much as I can but can't finish it.

    After I pay, the staff farewell me and pray that I don't have cardiac arrest from all that meat on my way home. I take a couple more photos from the bridge before turning in.
    Read more