Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Paninis and Gelato

    July 31, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 91 °F

    After all the walking, we worked up an appetite! Since this was our last full day in Rome, I had a list of sights I wanted to check out. We found a café on the way to the Trevi Fountain and had these HUGE paninis…seriously, we could have split one! The owner twisted my arm to try a local beer, from Ferret Burrow Brewery, an APA, which I was surprised that I liked, since I’m not a huge fan of the IPAs.

    From here we made the short walk to the Trevi Fountain that was packed with people throwing their 3 coins, per the legend. My sister had mentioned a gelato shop that was in Eat, Pray, Love, that was nearby. We found Gelato di San Crispino and enjoyed one of many gelatos we have had on this trip. We didn’t have any change for the fountain, so I got some coins 🪙 for Sydney. After that, we had seen a sign for a rooftop bar overlooking the fountain, so we enjoyed some time out of the sun and were happy to meet up with our new cruise friends, Karen and Dennis.
    Read more