Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Last dinner and last café in Roma

    July 31, 2022 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 82 °F

    As we were walking back to the AirBnB we passed a place called Pasta e Vino Osteria with a woman rolling out pasta dough to make different kinds of ravioli, linguine, and tortellini. I could have watched for hours. We decided that this had to be the place to eat dinner after the sunset. This place was hopping and was the only restaurant we passed with a line, so we figured we had hit the jackpot. Everything was so fresh and delicious and the manager who was also a sommelier suggested all the dishes we needed to try. Definitely our best meal in Rome! 🍝

    The next morning, I had a few places I wanted to visit before our flight back home. I had yet to have a morning cappuccino at a street side café, so I went to the San Cosimato Market that I had wanted to check out, and found Il Siciliano where I grabbed a cappuccino and may have interrupted a Mafia meeting, LOL! I sat around taking in the quiet streets and watching the market get set up. I still had time to get to the Jewish Ghetto to get some crostata, a cherry and ricotta breakfast treat that I had heard so much about at the Pasticceria Boccione. Along the way, I passed more churches so I had to pop inside. It's always interesting to see what these churches have inside.

    Taking my last stroll back to Trastevere, crossing over the Tiber River, I am in awe of how this area changes from the night time with all the bustling crowds and tables set up in the streets, to just a few people on the street; most sweeping up last nights crumbs to prepare for the day.
    Read more