Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 103

    Sandy Cape Snapper

    April 28, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    On the back of a hot fishing tip we were targeting Jewfish off the back of the local reef in the tinny. We had burley flowing and not a bite for 15 minutes. Just as Shaun, Clay and I started to discuss moving my line started to take off, as I lifted the rod the reel begun to sing. I tightened the drag but it was just peeling line off the reel, I couldn’t stop it and Shaun asked “how much line do you have left”, I had a bit but it was as if it was never going to stop. Was it a sting ray, a shark or hopefully a giant Jewfish, these were the questions being asked in the boat. After 10 or so minutes I fought it back to the boat and the monster surfaced, it was a massive snapper! Shaun netted it on the second attempt and it took both of us to lift it in the boat. It measured 86cm long and I’m guessing it was 10-12kg. We filleted it up and half filled the freezer................ yum yum yum 😋
    I have heard stories and seen pictures in fishing magazines but I can truely say I never thought I’d ever catch a snapper so big in my lifetime, especially not 100 metres from shore and in 5 metres of water, but I did and it was incredible! 😎
    Read more