Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 264

    Middle Lagoon - Hanging with TIAV

    October 6, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    What a great day! One that will put a smile on my face for a very long time 😁
    We woke to sunshine and a beautiful morning followed by some loaded omelettes (egg, milk, cheese, ham, salami, sun dried tomato and jalapeños) all on wholemeal toast…… yum yum yum.
    Down the lagoon we went for high tide at 10.30am and we had the lovely clear blue water to ourselves except for a couple of gatecrashing legends... TRIP IN A VAN 😊
    The kids played for hours and the adults lazed about both in and out of the water. Justin shouted me a beer when he heard I was on rashins and even threw in a TiAV beer cooler, I was totally stoked! I love beer coolers.
    After a few more bevies and many wind checks Justin said he was heading out for a trawl and he offered me a ride in the makocraft. We trawled with no luck but my consolation prize was a ride in the Big Chopped 200 Series, what a BEAST! And with a purr that would put the worst of babies to sleep (I miss my V8 😔)
    However my day was not done, I had a feeling the fish would be on late in the day. The kids played with hermit crabs while Justin kicked back with a beer (I mean supervised lol) and I launched the tinny. It was rough but man it was worth it, 5-6 kilometres south I headed and the water was alive, birds diving, dolphins splashing, fish breaking the surface and sharks lurking. Every troll was a Macky in seconds however they were only 60-80cm. I pulled up and had a spin with the big lure, second cast and the water erupted, I had hooked a good fish however it started to become unstoppable and I felt I’d been sharked, get the lure back was now the priority. After a couple of minutes the monster surfaced and it was a HUGE COBIA. How was I to get it in the boat, I thought about grabbing it but I wouldn’t have had a chance so I tried the net. I got it on the second attempt but as I lifted it one handed I broke the handle and the net fell in the water. I reached for the nett and luckily the Cobia’s head was still in it thanks to the tangled lure which had managed to hook the net now as well. With a heave and a hoe I lifted it in without tipping the boat and man it was heavy.
    After some showing off and filleting I celebrated at the camp with a bottle of brown brothers Prosecco, a camp fire, and some soy soaked Mackerel lightly fried then eaten with lettuce leaves, rice, pickled ginger, and wasabi.
    What a memorable day I will never forget
    Yew! 🤙
    Read more