Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 88

    Urban Surf Wave Pool

    March 29, 2023 in Australia

    What a typical Melbourne day, raining, windy and freezing……. But the waves were on song 🤙
    Although the weather was awful, there were glimpses of sunshine between the showers and urban surf has outdoor hot tubs and hot showers which were great for thawing out between surfs.
    The first two intermediate sessions were very enjoyable and the kids had a great time surfing the small right in the corner. They also really enjoyed swimming in the hot tub after.
    It was then time for my advance surf session where they crank it up to maximum, half hour of the biggest waves then half hour of beast mode which produces the small slabbing barrels. Nervous? Yes!
    I stood in the line up ready to head out in the company of some very advance surfers Layne Beachley, Connor O'leary, and Jack Robinson who is currently leading the WSL and wearing the yellow jersey going into Bells Beach next week, essentially he is the best surfer in the world right now! Jack and Connor headed to the left hand wave but Layne was on the right with me. I surfed and got some great waves however they were quite tricky with many in my group not even able to make the take off. After feeling the wave out I planted some better turns, but it was then turned up to beast mode. I got some great head dips but then one barrel that felt great and topped off a great session.
    When I left the pool Brax came running up and said super excitedly, did you see that old chick, she was awesome….. she was ripping it up better than all the guys and she was getting the deepest barrels and still making them. I knew exactly who he was talking about and had to enlighten him, I said “Brax, that is Layne Beachley, she is one of the best women surfers in the world and has won the world title seven times” 😂 Brax still amazed said “she’s is like Nans age and still ripping it up” 🤙
    I wish I got a photo with Jack and Layne but I didn’t want to hassle them, I chatted to Layne in the water and Jack gave us a shuka as he so casually cruised passed the hot tub on his way out. Such cool chilled champions, what an epic end to an epic day 😊
    Read more