Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Sunset Lake Views

    March 6, 2023 in Rwanda ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    It took the hospital a few hours longer than expected with the call announcing the results, but we got the call the very moment we pulled into the parking lot of our new home for the next few days. They said the results were negative (it wasn't malaria), and that we can now come back to discuss the results. We kindly declined (we were three hours away after all) and hurried to set up our workstations to try to get at least a little bit of productive time in while overlooking the sunset.

    This place, even though it was labeled as a resort, didn't really feel like a resort. It reminded me a lot of the Airbnb I was staying at in Guatemala, where I had comparable views over Lake Atitlán 😊 I spent one month in that place, so this here was great! I had negotiated for a free upgrade to a lake view room, and we were definitely taking full advantage of the setup.

    We ordered dinner from the on-site restaurant to our room, and in true Rwandan fashion it took over an hour to arrive. But we didn't mind, as we didn't plan on leaving tonight anyways. Usually room service costs two dollars extra per meal, and I felt stingy so I told them that I would carry it up the ten steps from the restaurant to our room myself. But they were afraid I'd spill it and offered to bring it up for free instead 😂
    Read more