Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Playa Zipolite

    January 21 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    So when I previously said we would find Zipolite to be the most “alternative” of them all, this is why. It’s the first (and possibly only) beach in Mexico where it’s allowed to be nude. The reviews and travel blogs I’d read had mentioned this, but had stressed that it wasn’t as weird as it sounded. I’m happy to disagree on this one.

    The day after we arrived at Mazunte, and while still trying to find where we would stay longer term, we caught the Colectivo down to Zipolite. The first thing that we noticed was that almost every hotel or hostel had some reference to nudity. I’d initially thought that this beach was going to be the spot we would find a place to stay. But when I looked into the first hotel and saw a handful of mid-fifties and older all standing around a pool naked, I realised I was very much wrong. Once we got to the beach it was all but confirmed. This was like Spring Break for over 50’s. With all attendees having an inner desire to be an exhibitionist.

    The beach itself is stunning. And thankfully the further along we walked, the less in your face it got. We pulled up and had a few beers in the sun before heading back into town to find the Colectivo.

    It was like our entire experience along the Mexico coastline was following a tourist spectrum ranging from “Family Vacation” to “Wild Hippy”. Realising that I’d hit my threshold, it was a simple case of dialling it back one notch to San Agustinillo ❤️
    Read more