Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    To Boston we go

    February 12, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 2 °C

    Boston has always been on our bucket list and this trip we finally get to cross it off.

    We woke up this morning at 7.00am and headed an hour west to Sharon Springs to the Stone House Farm Sap House for our fill of pancakes, waffles and maple syrup produced on their farm. Again Cathy, being the super thoughtful person she is, had gluten free waffles and pancakes to take with us so that I didn’t get to miss out on all the goodness of maple syrup - I LOVE MAPLE SYRUP 🍁

    And didn’t we eat our fill of the waffles and pancakes smothered in maple syrup, maple butter, maple sugar and maple cream! Cathy bought Ellie some maple cotton candy (fairy floss) and we got to sample that as well.

    After we arrived back at home, we packed the last few things into our bags, did some laundry and sat on the porch and soaked up the amazing winter day we were having. It started out at -5 and warmed up to 7 degrees.

    At 2.15pm we headed to the train station which was about half an hour’s drive. As we got in the car, Cathy had one last surprise for me!

    As we both love Dirty Dancing and the phrase ‘I carried a watermelon’ she bought us both a tshirt with this on it.

    And she didn’t stop there. As we had our ‘Thelma & Louise’ Day on Friday, she ordered us both tshirts with hers saying ‘I’m her Thelma. She’s my Louise’ and mine saying ‘I’m her Louise. She’s my Thelma’ plus a pair of Thelma & Louise socks! It made my day!

    We got to the train station at 2.45pm and headed down to the platform at 3.10pm. The train was supposed to leave at 3.27pm but we didn’t get going until 3.45pm. Even though we left late, we got into Boston 15mins early.

    It was about a 5 hour train trip which went by in a flash really. Read more of my book and both Dave and I enjoyed all the scenery.

    We got into Back Bay Station to find the elevator wasn’t working so we had to carry 4 suitcases and 1 carry on up 2 huge flights of steep stairs. We were stuffed. Out onto the street for a 5 minute walk to our hotel, the Copley Square Hotel.

    It’s now 10.00pm while I am typing this so it’s been a big day. Looking forward to exploring Boston tomorrow and Tuesday.
    Read more