Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Colorado: Week 1 Hodgepodge

    June 17, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 64 °F

    After a busy week, it's Friday night and we are happily tucked away into our camper for a chill evening. There are no complaints with the light rain that's been going on and off for a couple of hours. I cooked up a kitchen sink style chili that EVERYONE liked and happily ate (this rarely happens, so I had no make a note of it to remember that at least once it did happen). We rigged up the projectorand are watching a movie (LEGO Batman), so I'm using the time to catch up a bit more.

    Tuesday after visiting Box Canyon with Dad, we went climbing at a great spot. This was my first time belaying and I didn't drop anyone, so that's a big win. Thursday we got up the hot springs and music night at the park. Today we headed to Baby Bathtubs section of the Perimeter Trail in Ouray and the views were just gorgeous.

    Tomorrow we head to Black Canyon of the Gunnison, our first National Park on this adventure. Sunday we'll be hiking & tooling around spots off of Highway 550, also called The Million Dollar Highway, which is supposed to be a beautiful and also nerve-racking to drive. I already told Nate I won't be leaving the passenger seat on that drive.
    Read more