Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Moab and Green River

    April 9, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Crazy day today, started off very normal and very pleasant. Easy ride to Moab, lunch in Moab, family zoom from a coffee shop. Did lose my beloved orange sunglasses though, by they've been replaced by some nice garish ones... because... when in Rome 😂 also met a chap on a KTM on his way to Mexico from Denver, got myself a bed for the night when I head back through Denver 😊

    The ride back from Moab to my motel in Green River is where it got silly. The last time I get on my bike without checking the weather first. 50 mile ride and at about 25 miles the wind really picked up, from mile 30 I had 50mph crosswinds, blowing debris across the dual carriageway and trying to blow me off the side of the road. It felt like I was at a 45 degree angle just to try and counter the wind and keep myself on the road.

    At one point my tank bag came lose so I pulled over to fix it and got stuck, I couldn't let go of the bike without it blowing over (with the stand down) and I couldn't life my leg back over the bike without us both blowing over... finally a drop in the wind gave me a chance to get back on my bike and get moving again, slowly and sideways, hoping nothing gets blown in front if me! Brand new tank bag with brand new glove liners, snood and ratchet straps was soon torn from the bike, knocking my arm off the throttle and thrown halfway across a field... I didn't stop to find it... mainly because leaving the bike without me holding it up would have ended up with the bike on the floor.

    Anyway finally got myself back to the motel, feeling defeated, shaken and missing a few belongings but off the bike at least!... I walked to dinner tonight!

    Lesson learned, you do not fuck around with American weather! It also means I think I have 4 days at a Motel 6 in Green River until the wind passes.
    Read more