Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Mardalsfossen, Trollstigen, Greiranger

    August 5, 2022 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Today was a good day of great roads and amazing views and best of all it didn't rain for about 40% of the time.

    Started off with a 1.5 hour drive out of my way and a 1hr hike to get up to a couple of waterfalls called Mardalsfossen. I didn't really know what to expect but my god was ot worth it! Looked like the kind of scenery you'd only find in a national geographic magazine!

    Amthen onto Trollstigen, a superbly brilliant windy road up into the snow, the kind of road dreams are made of, spectacularly ruined by the train of tour buses ensuring that it takes at least 30 minutes to do 5km. The views were good at least!

    Lastly it was a ride through the clouds and snow before my final climb... into more clouds and snow at Greiranger (you can just about make it out winding up the hill on the right in photo 5! Less busy but much wetter, much colder, and by this point I couldn't feel my face... but nothing was going to stop me being a big kid blasting up the road and zipping past all the cars that were trying to ruin my fun!
    Read more