Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Potluck and Prayers

    September 5, 2023 in Northern Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    I begin with the potluck:
    We had a wonderful Labor Day celebration last night. Burgers, sausages, charcuterie, guacamole, sweet potato casserole, salad, pigs in a blanket and more. My heart was happy and my stomach full. We had another Ceile of singing and sharing which was a good way to end my night.

    The prayer:
    At 5:15am the potluck no longer made me happy. To make a longish story shorter, I ended up at the Irish Emergency Room around 8am. My roommate, Isabella, was hugely instrumental in caring for me while I was still at home. She did all of the right things and helped the group leader make good choices on how to best handle the situation. Turns out I have some sort of stomach bug- likely food poisoning. The doctors and nurses at the hospital were very nice and it was a very interesting cultural experience being seen there. It is so fascinating how we all speak English, but communicating cross culturally can still be really difficult. I'm proud of myself though for navigating the differences as best I can and for sticking up for myself/listening to my body. I also was able to experience the free healthcare system which was a good thing to learn about. Now, I am at home, have some medicine, and am resting. I appreciate all of your prayers. I AM OKAY and will get better so soon, but prayers still appreciated. Thank you all!
    Read more