Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 82

    The Tatras

    November 17, 2023 in Slovakia ⋅ 🌧 3 °C

    Next we made our way to the Tatra Mountains and stayed at a nice hotel/ski resort. Here I got to RELAX. I booked my massage and enjoyed the pool, sauna, and room service. We also had a couple of planned events. One day we went to a facility near the Ukraine/Slovakia border and learned about an organization that helps refugees. Another day we went to an integrated village where Roma and nonRoma live. It was fascinating to learn about, and it was a pleasure to meet so many lovely people. I have genuinely been shocked by the level of racism and sexism here in Slovakia. Remind me to tell you all about the Easter Monday tradition… We made a stop at the Tatra Tea store/factory? It’s a Slovakian specialty. We also went to a library with SUPER OLD books- it was really cool but no pictures allowed. Finally we visited a wooden church. Oh and then also our train caught on fire :)Read more