Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Calle de la Colombina, Venice, Italy

    August 11, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    I slept very well last night. I needed it. I woke up around 8. I quietly shuffled through the kitchen, while Paul slept, trying to figure out how to make coffee. There were two things that resembled a coffee press but I had no idea how they worked. I had to look it up on the internet. Now this is science at its best and if i were still teaching, I would bring it into school. You fill the bottom with water, put the filter back in, fill with grounds, put the pot-like top back on and put it on the burner. The hot water boils up through the grounds and coffee brews to the top into the pot and you pour it into your cup. How great! I am going in search of one immediately. I had coffee, a banana, and part of an Udi’s chocolate muffin that I got on the plane while looking out of my living room window. An older couple (literally an arm’s reach across) was picking their basil and hanging out their laundry. Perfectly Venice. I typed up a blog post while absorbing this moment in time. Paul rose about 10AM. I knew he needed sleep. He is crabby when tired. Not me. (Wink).

    We set out to explore. It is said that you must get lost in Venice and that we did. We wandered through the labyrinth of walkways and pathways and tunnels and waterways. It is a remarkable place. A place everyone should try to visit. We actually enjoyed the quieter areas away from the crowds, though, we didn’t feel like it was all that crowded anyway. We were alone most of the time and we found restaurants that were more local and less touristy. We had a little breakfast of procuitto and melon and an espresso. I love the taste of espresso but I also love to hold and savor a big mug. This whole sidaling up to a bar for a dolly sized sip of steaming hot deliciousness leaving you wanting more is no way enjoy the morning. They literally run up, order, slam and run. That is probably the only thing they do fast.
    Read more