Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 23 - Canberra ACT

    June 28, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    The day started off with a -4 degree morning, although I didn’t see it or feel it as I stayed tucked up in bed until 9am! 😴
    Once I ventured out I went to Mount Ainslie lookout, as the morning is the best for photos with the sun behind you. The cold start was followed up by a beautiful sunny but cool day made for perfect conditions for photos 📷
    I followed up with stroll along ANZAC Ave, which I have always wanted to do. However, all my previous trips to Canberra were accompanying 40 school students! It was so nice to be a real tourist today! The memorials along the Avenue are spectacular.
    This afternoon I wandered the halls of the Australian War Memorial. Did a bit of research first and it allowed me to find two of my great uncles who were killed during WW2.
    Harold Shore was in the RAAF and was shot down over Ambon in Indonesia early 1942.
    Fred Hill was in the AIF and from all reports was quite a rebel who really didn’t want to be there. He managed to make it through the war only to be killed in a beach assault in Borneo in one of the last battles of 1945.
    I am sitting writing this while waiting to attend the Last Post Ceremony at the War Memorial tonight.
    Read more