Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Edinburgh

    May 29, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 54 °F

    I tested NEGATIVE !! We lost 2 more today to Covid. There were 7 “survivors” at our farewell dinner. Rebecca and I were very lucky.

    Today was our last tour day, and we met up with a local guide to explore the Gothic streets of the old town of Edinburgh that are filled with narrow lanes, shops, historic buildings, castles, gardens, and monuments. And yes, I think I saw them all! I can see how the Old Town provided inspiration for Harry Potter books. We did a little last minute shopping and then returned to our favorite “fairytale village” to walk along the river and enjoy our last day in the quiet and beauty of the area.

    I fell in love with the people of Great Britain, the culture, and the land. I had a wonderful experience over the last month and will need to rest up before my next adventure!
    Now, I have the monumental task of packing. I’m tempted to sleep in my clothes on top of the bed since I need to wake up by 4:30! We have a flight to London, then London to Charlotte, and finally to Cleveland.

    Wee bit of info:
    Did you know that Queen Elizabeth doesn’t need or have a driver’s license or a passport!

    The Prime Minister meets with the Queen once a week to let her know what is going on with Parliament. If one is not in her favor, they aren’t offered a seat, but must stand the whole time. Tony Blair and Boris Johnson stand! Margaret Thatcher and Winston Churchill were offered a seat!

    Not many pictures today. I just wanted to soak in the city one last time. But I did find some places that were an inspiration for JK Rowling’s books (for my granddaughter).
    Read more