Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 168

    What does the fox say?

    February 25, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ -14 °C

    Welp, all good little vacations in the Arctic must come to end as they say. Never thought I'd be a bit disappointed to be leaving -25C (-13F), but when you compare that to a return to -40C (-40F) without the wind chill and you know you will be having to live in that, welp, 3200 people town with a road and balmy negative temps seems right delightful.

    Before returning to reality, I got to stopover in Yellowknife again and visit with my friend. She hooked me up by toting both me and my boss around to do shopping. I had brought an extra bag which had been stuffed in my single bag on the way over. I have become quite a light traveler over the years. In fact, I'd pride myself on being able to take a carry on backpack for a multi-weeks trip. (Granted, no computer was taken so work trips require a little more bulk). Didn't matter where I was going or for how long, a carry-on was all I needed. After moving here, the more luggage you can take with you, the better! I still have all my things in a carry on amount, but now it's held in a giant checked bag with another empty bag checked and my backpack. In fact, I think I may become so desperate that I'll simply bring a toothbrush and the clothes on my back so both giant checked bags can be empty. Why you ask? I do this (and everyone else too) so that we can stock up on things we cannot get or are too cost prohibitive to get shipped. So, while in Yellowknife, my friend took us to the grocery store where we got such crazy items as coriander, dried cilantro, and rice noodles. Then, on to Walmart where I stood dazed and overwhelmed. Such exotic items as a dish drain pan, a $15 watch, batteries (that don't cost the equivalent of a kidney), contact lens solution, a mirror for cutting my hair, scissors for cutting my hair, a thimble.....and the list goes on of really exciting purchases. I'm kicking myself that I didn't pick up a wireless mouse. I mean how often do you have access to such luxuries? bahahaha!! Thankfully, many of my friends and family have stocked me for many staples. But, what happens when you need a new sports bra?

    The final stop was the liquor store. The problem with liquids is that they're heavy!! But, an overage weight fee for a bag is totally worth it.

    Following the large haul, my boss and I had to set out all our bags and clothes and begin the meticulous process of wrapping all delicate, breakable items in our clothes, then packing them strategically so as to distribute weight properly. It was a team effort. We had plenty of room but were at weight limits on almost every bag. And, we actually ran out of clothes to wrap the items in. We literally had more purchased good than crap we brought with us for a week. lolol.

    The most exciting purchase was a hook up by my friend. In the Northwest Territories, there is an exchange where the public can go in and purchase furs and pelts. So, at my request, she went there while I was in Inuvik and got me a sweet fox pelt. I need to add some fur to my small parka and my other big parka. My Canada Goose parka has coyote fur and it's been great for me. However, my little parka that becomes frozen and crunchy at -30 has thin fake fur that is useless for breaking the wind to my soft, southern cheeks. So, I asked for a dead carcass skin to save my cheeks. My friend came through! The best part is that right now it's a whole pelt so you can put your hand up its butt and make it into a puppet....which I'd never dream of doing. My friend showed me how to cut it and evaluate the skin thickness to determine the best parts for sewing on my parkas. She also provided some sinew for attaching it and a heavy duty needle. Again, things I never thought I'd be learning or feeling the need to do. "What did you do on the weekend?" asked the Nashvillian. "Oh me? Well, I cut up a fox pelt and sewed its fur on my hood because I didn't want my face to literally freeze off when I wear my other coats. You know, the uush". If I ever get taken on a seal hunt and they make me shoot a seal in the face, I'm gonna be over it......until I get that sweet seal skin and make an awesome parka!! Perspectives change very quickly when you feel your face freezing off. It's like the cartoons where hungry characters see their cohorts or pets as steaks or other food items. I see a fluffy fox and think, "mmmmm, I want to WEAR you!!" A cute seal? "I don't want to shoot you in the face, but I want to WEAR you as MITTENS!"
    Read more