Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Moorea, French Polynesia

    January 24 in French Polynesia ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Magnificent, Menancing Moorea
    If you all have not noticed by now, it is Brenda who booked the excursions NOT Bob (although he is a great sport and is usually game for anything). So, surprise, we booked a water based activity in Moorea. This ended up being a water based excursion in more ways than I had originally thought. We booked the excursion entitled, Catamaran Cruise around Moorea. This is the first time that Bob and I have visited Moorea but when in French Polynesia, I think one should be in the water. Okay, we all know that Brenda feels that she should always be in the water. Afterall, I was born in a state of known for having 11,842 lakes so it goes without saying that water is my friend.
    Although we were the first off the tender, we were the last to board the catamaran for the excursion. When we got off the tender, we were told that our excursion was not ready so we wandered around another arts and crafts market. Numerous excursions were called for, we kept asking about our tour and were told that they were not ready for us. Well, the onshore staff was mistaken and by the time we got to our boat, we were the last two people to board the catamaran. The only seats that were left were at the aft of the catamaran which just happened to have no canopy. Since it was just mildly overcast, we were okay with the seats. In the beginning, we were so excited with the seats because we got great views of Moorea from the aft of the catamaran.
    The Captain of the catamaran said that we may have a bit of a rough ride as there were very big swells outside of the coral reef. I perked up at this information and was even happier that we were at the back of the boat. The only place better would have been at the bow. Being a catamaran, there were only nets in the front of the boat. I opted to see if the ride would be exciting enough at the stern.
    We exited the barrier reef and the swells were impressive. It was a beautiful sight to see the waves breaking over the reef with the island of Moorea and our ship in the background.
    Did I mention that we are in French Polynesia during the rainy season? The rainy season decided to show itself with a vengeance this afternoon. About 30 minutes into our boat ride, the heavens opened up and we experienced a downpour unlike anything that I had previously experienced. Our choice of seats soon became the least desirable place to be as everyone ran for the interior of the boat. Bob and I thought that we were tough enough to not dive for shelter at the first sign of precipitation. We can now attest to the fact that rainfall in French Polynesia is not a mere shower but a blinding, torrential, downpour. Our first indication was the Captain grabbed his raincoat. Our next indication was when the Captain was frantically motioning for his crew member to come to the back of the boat with her phone. He could not see his instruments and needed her to bring up their location on her GPS to confirm that we were not on the verge on running aground on the coral reef and throwing us all overboard. We were now in a total white out and could not see anything including the navigational beckons. Bob and I were still standing in the torrential downpour. Crew members are now doling out rum punch like it was water to keep us all distracted from the panic happening around the Captain. He was continually leaving the steering column to run to the side of the boat to investigate if visibility was any better on the side or over the top of the boat. I could have told him that we are in a total whiteout. Finally we came within inches of a navigational beacon. I looked at the Captain and said, "Well done." He visibly relaxed.
    Bob and I are now a bit chilled along with everyone else on the boat. I was literally wringing water out of my dress. So, after just dodging a major bullet, I thought that we would just head to the dock.
    But, alas, there was more fun was to be had.
    We quickly sailed past the dock only to find the crew dropping anchor and indicating that we were at the snorkeling spot. Considering the passing storm, we knew that the visibility under the water would be similar to what we had just experienced above the water. But, as I rarely pass up the opportunity to be in the ocean, I was up for getting in the water. Bob and I donned our snorkel masks and walked down the staircase into the water. We were told that there may be a slight current. I entered the water first and started swimming with all my strength. I briefly stopped to see how far from the boat I had swam, only to be smacked in the face with the hull of the boat. Yes, after trying with all my might, I had made zero progress. Bob and I then grabbed onto the anchor rope and decided that we needed fins. The crew generously supplied us with fins. Now, with fins firmly affixed, we lowered our snorkel masks determined to make it to the coral reef. Again, swimming with all my might, I made it about 5 feet in front of the boat. Immediately upon stopping swimming, I found myself being swiftly propelled past the anchor rope. I knew that if the anchor past me by, I would be swept out to sea. Since death at sea was not what I planned for the day, I grabbed the anchor rope. Thankfully, Bob was also wise enough to grab the rope. While hanging on for dear life, I grabbed a quick photo of the two of us in order to document our near death experience.
    As we breathlessly boarded the boat and moved to our seats, I noticed a fellow passenger who had not been as fortunate as Bob and I. He had been grabbed by the current and was quickly being carried away from the boat. I yelled at him to see if he was okay. (Yes, I know, silly question!) He indicated that he was not okay. I yelled at the crew and told them that this gentleman was in danger. I then turned to him and yelled not to panic, just relax, they were preparing to rescue him with the inflatable boat. I didn't want him to panic and try to swim against the current only to exhaust himself. The crew rose to the occasion and quickly rescued him.
    This excursion again left me questioning, "What were they thinking?" The average age on this boat is probably 70. Who's brilliant idea was it to throw a bunch of rum soaked, geriatrics in a 20 Knot current and tell them to swim?
    After all this excitement, Bob and I headed back to the ship for a warm shower and a moment to catch our breath. We are going to sleep well tonight if we can avoid having nightmares of losing our grip on the anchor rope and being lost at sea.
    Read more