Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 141

    London, England

    8 мая, Англия ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Bob went to breakfast in the World Cafe.

    I continued to pack. I discovered that my duffle bag had a hole in it. I borrowed a sewing kit from Jenni and did my best to sew up the hole. We also got some duct tape from our room steward. Can any one say Clampetts? I am hoping that it holds! I will have nightmares of my belongings being slung all over the baggage claim carousel.

    I was relieved that everything fit in our luggage and most bags were under weight. My sweet husband was right AGAIN!

    We had lunch in the World Cafe with Dale and Jenni. While we were having lunch, we sailed by the newly installed flood control gates. They were testing these gates this morning which may have been the reason that we are coming into London so late

    We relaxed in the afternoon while finishing adding the last items to our luggage. We gave items away that we are leaving in the ship.

    We watched the ship dock in Greenwich. We arrived at 3:30 PM which is an hour and a half late. Shore excursions did not begin until after 4 PM. We are moored in the Thames next to a floating platform. One must disembark via the platform to an awaiting boat than to shore.

    This is the first time that we have sailed into the Thames during the day. We usually sail during the early morning which leaves a full day to explore London. Many people are upset that what is advertised as two days in London ends up being just one afternoon as most people have very early morning flights.

    We went down to the atrium to give our snorkel masks to Apple (our wonderful waitress in the Restaurant).

    We had our last aperitif before heading to the private dining room at Manfredi's. The Hollands arranged a dinner for Dale, Jenni, Jim, Janet, George, Barbara, Patty, Keifer and yourselves. It was nice to have the last diner with this group. It also minimized the amount of goodbyes we have to say.

    After dinner, we went back to our stateroom to put our luggage out. I wish that I had taken a picture of our luggage but I am fighting this cold so my brain is a bit fuzzy.

    We said goodnight for the last time aboard the Viking Neptune.
    Читать далее