Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Dreams come true.

    April 21, 2018 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 3 °C

    Beautiful, emotional day today!
    Since my first memories of US, I had three things I wanted to see: Brooklyn Bridge, WTC (before the tragedy) and Empire State Building. Today I saw them all! We started by crossing the Brooklyn Bridge (first opened in 1883) to Lower Manhattan. From there we could see an impressive, extraordinary view over the island!
    Once in Lower Manhattan, we headed to Ground Zero. I have to say I am still astonished by what people can do to each other. It was for me very intense to be there... I found it very appropriate the way they built the monuments: twin Memorial pools, located in the footprints of the Twin Towers, surrounded by bronze parapets where they inscribed the names of the 2983 people killed in the attacks. For me it really was more than just a place to check on the NY to do list: it was a reminder that everything can stop in a second. So brutally and sudden...
    In the evening we decided to „climb“ the top of Empire State Building (up to 86th floor) A dream come true for me! The view of New York by night leaves you speechless. There is nothing much you can do or say, than just be amazed. It is a joy for the eyes, as well as for the hearts of those who dreamt about it since they were teenagers.
    Read more