Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Sand Boarding and Star gazing

    February 22, 2018 in Chile ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    After a long few days of traveling I am pretty excited to have 2 nights in one place. Today was a day filled with activities, a nap, and a nice meal.
    We started the morning with Sand boarding. Sand Boarding is much like snow boarding, in fact it uses the same equipment. The difference being snowboarding they haul you up a mountain, sand boarding you have to climb sinking sand to get to the top. Even though we have gone down from 15000 ft above sea level to only 7500 breathing is still tough for me. I am proud to say I did make it down the hill once, then enjoyed myself taking pictures and video's of my new friends.
    Even with my one trip down the beating sun and the sand took it out of me. After a shower to get sand out of, well everywhere, it was time for a nap. I decided to take the afternoon off from the group's mountain hike through the Valley of the moon. Instead I wandered the town, had some lunch, did my laundry, and relaxed. After a few full days it was nice to have sometime to relax. I even finished another book.
    Later on in the night it was time to go for star watching. I was excited as the last few nights of stars had been incredible. Unfortunately our star location was pretty close to town, but they had incredible telescopes. Before this trip I thought the Southern Hemisphere saw different constellations as we did here. It turns out they see a few of the same ones such as Orion, but it is upside down. I also got to check out a close up of the craters of the moon.
    It was a great day, but I am dreading tomorrow a bit with out 10 hour bus ride and border crossing into Argentina.
    Read more