Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Beer and valium

    March 14, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Hello and welcome back,

    Can you believe your favorite roaming Realtor is tuning 40? I have to say I can't.
    A question I frequently receive about my travels is how do I choose my next trip. The answer is usually based on a picture I have seen from that country. For Peru I believe it was the picture of Guinea pig on a menu and served whole. Oh yeah Macchu Picchu also looked cool.
    For those who have known me for awhile you know this is the second time I have booked this trip. The first time was in 2016, the year the world fell apart for me. I believe we have all had those years and when they happen it is time to make the decision of what will make you happy and what you would like your life to be like. I had been smart in previous years and saved for the just in case. So I restarted my life and career that year. It was the best decision I have ever made. For those who followed my blog that year was very raw for me. I am happy to report that after 3 years I am not back to who I was but now a new and improved version of myself.
    A recap on my past year to catch you up. I made the decision last year to switch the brokerage with which I worked. Wow what a difference that made. I was able to more than double my business year over year and end up in the top 15% of my office. I am so grateful to each of my clients, vendors and KW staff who helped. 2019 is already off to an amazing start and I look to double my production again this year.
    Besides work my life is much the same. Basil continues to get older and his face a little whiter. I helped my Mom sell the lake house in Belleville and move up to Canton to be near Amy and me.
    Now for a few details about my trip. I ended up booking it when I realized I had not been out of the country in over a year and only out of the state to go to OH. Yikes. This one was very last minute and was only booked about 3 weeks ago. I will be gone for just 6 days. The highlights include my 40th birthday on top of Macchu Picchu, quad biking and a flight over the Nazca lines. A few small activities are also planned but that will pretty much be it. Many ask about the flights. I start with 3 hours to Dallas, a five hour layover, 7.5 hours to Lima Peru, then a quick 1 hour flight to Cusco. It will take me about 22 hours total from leaving my house to arriving at my hotel. I know it sounds a bit grueling but a few beers and a few valium the time flies by.
    I am currently sitting at my layover in Dallas.
    For many reasons I thought this again was going to be the trip that did not happen. I have fought through back spasms, entire plane collections being grounded and a few other things to make this trip happen. As your Roaming Realtor I woke up this morning to having to renegotiate a contract to ensure my clients got their dream home.

    Now vacation begins. Bring on the beer time for my 7 hour nap waking up in Peru.

    My 41st country in 40 years!

    Stay tuned, more updates to come.
    Read more