Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Watch out Dublin

    October 18, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    There's something interesting about finally making it to a city, and still having no idea where you're headed. Fortunately I was able to pull up a map on how to get to my hostel and it was only a few blocks away from the bus stop. This place is so much larger. There's two huge areas to hang out, a big kitchen, four stories with a rooftop veranda surrounded by glass, and my shared dorm has 12 beds. After getting settled in, and I can very easily say how nice it was to walk somewhere without my backpack, I went off in search of food. I decided to just start walking and find a place to eat by running across it; it wasn't a long journey, I ended up about two blocks away from my hostel. This place was a nice decently sized pub, with all the food you'd expect, and the only thing I wanted was the Cesar salad. Clearly I've been feeling vegetable deprived, but it was also a marvelous salad. Now, I won't say that people in the US aren't friendly, but our customer service skills are put to shame by Ireland. After finishing my meal, the person clearing my food away asked me how my day had been, and how I was enjoying my trip, and we were able to have a nice little chat. They also have very nice after dinner mints. Heading back to my hostel I realized that although I've only been there for a bit I've seen that people there are slightly standoffish, and seem to keep to themselves or their group; so it's a good thing I can strike up a conversation with almost anyone. I was able to start talking to someone outside of the hostel, just chatting about our travels, and I learned that he and a friend had met someone the night before who was coming to hang out, and fortunately was invited along. We hung out and chatted for hours. Unfortunately, they're all headed in different directions tomorrow, so I may just take a lazy day and go on the hostels pub crawl tonight.Read more