Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Slow and steady wins the race.

    October 31, 2018 in England ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    So obviously I check the time the play started about a dozen times, and leaving about a half hour earlier than I needed to, I got to Piccadilly Circus. Clearly I had never been to a super busy tube station because this one was packed. I walked out of the underground station, and the theater was right in front of me. At least I didn't have to navigate my way around London's version of Time Square. I got inside, and indulged by getting a drink and even some Malteasers. Right off the bat I was cracking up. It was silly and ridiculous, but also very well produced, and they even sang all the songs. My face hurt by the end of the night from how much I laughed. After laughing my butt off, I headed straight back to the hostel. I guess cracking up for basically three hours tires you out. Now, once I got back, I had some drawing to do. Somehow I had one of the receptionists convince me to draw on their whiteboard for Halloween. I guess it sufficed since it was still there once I'd emerged from the room for the day. I took my time having breakfast, no real plans on the books, and thought I might head for "Poundland" which is essentially the UK's version on the Dollar Tree to figure out a costume. It wasn't too far away, and I can honestly say I was pretty impressed with their selection, not just on costume items, but everything. Plus, because tax is included, everything was just one pound. I ended up leaving the store with a pair of "spooky" tights, a witches hat, and some makeup to complete the look. Naturally when I got back, I promptly fell asleep for a few hours. I didn't even realize how tired I was, but when I woke up all my new acquisitions were spread out around me on the bed. That just means that I had it all waiting when I woke up. Some light makeup later, and a quick change into a dress, and I was ready to hit the town. Now when you're planning on spending the night out, drinking no less, it is good to not go hungry. That means I had to eat before the pub crawl, and it was a perfect time to try out a pizza place that I'd seen on a random YouTube video. I left an hour and a half early to make sure I got my food and didn't miss this "tour." Walking in to this restaurant I immediately felt my mouth start to water, it smelled marvelous. I got their "tropicali" pizza, which was their way of saying ham and pineapple, along with some garlic dip for the crust. Oh my gosh was this good, with thin crust, shaved ham, sparsely placed pineapple, and just the right amount of cheese. I was already two slices in before I remembered the garlic dip, and once I finally tried it, wow. It was probably the best dip I've ever had with a pizza, it was so smooth and creamy with just the right amount of bite to it. I polished it off before I even exited the tube to get to the bar. Stepping out from the underground, after getting my bearings, I realized the pub I was supposed to go to was just across the street. Within five minutes I was checked in, drink in hand, and having a great conversation with someone else on the pub crawl who was going alone. Let the night begin.Read more